NPC – Margareta Tereshkova

Her name comes from Margaret Hamilton, an engineer who helped with the Apollo 11 Mission, and Valentina Tereshkova, the first woman in space.

She is the lead scientist for the World Research Center. She is the one that aids Abraham throughout the game and is also a love interest.

Personality: Serious, Concerned

Main Characteristic: Genius Intellect

Speciality: Research and Development

My decision of replacing Peter Sherikov, the lead scientist of the research and development, was based on the fact that I wanted to have a person that can have a closer interaction with the main character, than just being a guide of the future and a friend. As such I decided to make the lead scientist a woman, that will still keep the same role of protector and guide, as Sherikov was to Thomas Cole, but can also develop in a love interest. In a society of people that specialize in certain things, I believe that she could only get in a position of lead scientist only in terms of genius intellect, as there are also a lot of other people specialized in R&D

For her design, I wanted to inspire it on some known women that had an effect in science. As such I searched, look – wise, into scientist women. The ones that I decided upon were Margaret Hamilton, the engineer lead for the Apollo 11 mission to the moon, because, even though she was young, she was the team lead for the engineers, and my character being a genius, I found it right that her look would be inspired from Hamilton. The other women I took as inspiration was Valentina Tereshkova, the first woman in space. Because my character was the first woman to reach her position, having a big influence in research, in her timeline, I found it fitting that she would also look somewhat like Tereshkova, which had a big influence for women, in terms of space exploration.

Margareta

Leave a comment